Perfume Genius announces new album Set My Heart On Fire Immediately and releases modern Americana infused single “Describe”

Perfume Genius will ultimately return on May 15th with a new album Set My Heart On Fire Immediately, that will “subverts concepts of masculinity and traditional roles” and in which he will use a “decidedly American DNA”.

The author of “Queen” has explained that, in this new record, he has sought to feel “more open, freer and spiritually wilder”. Although in fact, he has always been characterised by being quite relatable and human in his music.

Mike adds that he is in a place right now that “these feelings are very close, but that can border on the unhinged”, and indicates that he wrote these new songs intending to be “more patient and more considerate, and that of order all those chaotic threads that flutter around me to sew them and build with them something warm, thoughtful and comforting.”

All these ideas, intentions and adjectives clearly fit into “Describe” which has this strong American DNA and poetic feeling all over it. The video, very vintage-country, has been directed by Mike Hadreas himself.

Mike has also explained this about “Describe”: “It started as a really somber ballad. It was very minimal and very slow. And then it turned into this beast of a song. I started writing that about when you are in such a dark place that you don’t even remember what goodness is or what anything feels like. And so, the idea was having someone describe that to you, because you forgot or can’t get to it.”

Set My Heart on Fire Immediately:

01 Whole Life
02 Describe
03 Without You
04 Jason
05 Leave
06 On the Floor
07 Your Body Changes Everything
08 Moonbend
09 Just a Touch
10 Nothing At All
11 One More Try
12 Some Dream
13 Borrowed Light

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need.